The still preserved and basically Baroque structures of the Weesenstein Park can presumably be traced back to the ideas of design of the Barons von Uckermann family, who had acquired the property in 1772. But owners of the castle in later centuries left their marks.
The Castle Park
The bed of the Mueglitz river was diverted so that it ran through the park, dividing it into two. Thus, a natural water feature was created, which was completed by a small artificial waterfall. Both parts of the park make a formal unit each, through which a strictly symmetrical network of walkways leads to the various spaces of different experience. A multitude of roses and flowerbeds adorn the part of the park that is nearer to the castle. In the larger section of the park, shady linden tree avenues and paths lined with hornbeam hedges lead up to architectural gems.
The »vanished« Park
A romantic path leads through the afforested eastern slope of the Mueglitz valley to the »vanished« English park, up to the foundation walls of the belvedere, once an impressive hunting pavilion from the Baroque. Around 1780, the members of the Weesenstein nobility were regarded pioneers in Saxony in the design of such a garden. However, most references to what used to be the English garden have faded due to nature and the effects of postwar time. On their way to the »vanished« park, attentive observers can discover sandstone bridges, simple benches and viewpoints to the castle and its surroundings.
Am Schloßberg 1 | 01809 Müglitztal
Property of State Palaces, Castles and Gardens of Saxony, non profit
+49 (0) 35027 626-0